The Eleventh Edition of Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai Litfest
Monday, November 16th to Sunday, November 22nd 2020

Virtual Festival
Real Books

Live on YouTube, Facebook,
Twitter & Instagram

Tata Literature Live! Book of The Year Award – Non Fiction

The Tata Literature Live! Book of the Year Award for Non Fiction has been constituted to recognise noteworthy work in the Indian literary space in the non fiction genre.

2019 Recipient

The 2019 TATA Literature Live! Book Of The Year Award  for Non Fiction was awarded to Early Indians: The Story of Our Ancestors and Where We Came From by Tony Joseph (Juggernaut).

2019 Shortlist

Early Indians : The Story of Our Ancestors and Where We Came From

  • Tony Joseph
  • Juggernaut

Gandhi : The Years That Changed the World

  • Ramachandra Guha
  • Penguin Random House

The Transformative Constitution : A Radical Biography in Nine Acts

  • Gautam Bhatia
  • HarperCollins

2019 Longlist

Early Indians

  • Tony Joseph
  • Juggernaut


  • Ramachandra Guha
  • Penguin Random House

One Foot On The Ground

  • Shanta Gokhale
  • Speaking Tiger


  • Alpa Shah
  • HarperCollins

The Third Pillar

  • Raghuram Rajan
  • HarperCollins

The Transformative Constitution

  • Gautam Bhatia
  • HarperCollins

2019 Jury

  • Sanjay Sipahimalani

    Writer, critic and communications consultant.
  • Santosh Desai

    Columnist and author of Mother Pious Lady: Making Sense of Everyday India.
  • Shinie Antony

    Writer, editor, and Director, Bangalore Literature Festival.
  • Sunil Sethi

    Columnist and former host of the literary TV show, Just Books
  • Anil Dharker

    Author, columnist and Founder-Director, Literature Live!

Past Recipients



  • Walter K. Andersen and Shridhar D. Damle
  • Viking

Age Of Anger


  • Pankaj Mishra
  • Juggernaut

The Gene


  • Siddhartha Mukherjee
  • Penguin Random House India

Gita Press and The Making of Hindu India


  • Akshaya Mukul
  • HarperCollins

A Southern Music


  • T M Krishna
  • HarperCollins